Funimation and Crunchyroll Invite Fans to Special ‘One Piece’ Episode 1,000 Event

The worldwide, cultural impact of anime has come a long way, hasn’t it? From dragon balls to giant space robots, the icons of the past have fought valiantly for anime’s future. And some of those shonen warriors are still fighting the good fight; like One Piece.

The savvy brainchild of mangaka Eiichiro Oda follows Monkey D. Luffy and his tight knit pirate crew as they sail across the Grand Line in search of the fabled “One Piece” treasure. What that treasure is has been the subject of both fan and crew pondering since the manga first debuted in 1999. Even after 22 years of publication, the story of One Piece has still been going strong, with new arcs, characters, and surprises introduced to longtime fans and newcomers alike. 

The anime, which has also been going strong for the past two decades, is gearing up for its 1,000th episode this November 20. To celebrate such a milestone, Funimation and Crunchyroll have invited fans to a huge watch party event!

The celebration kicks off on Funimation and Toei Animation’s YouTube with a livestream of the previous two episodes, and continues with a lesson in cooking Luffy’s favorite meal — “Meat on the Bone.” Hosted by YouTuber and One Piece fan RogersBase, the event will finish with the live premiere of episode 1,000. 

To realize the anime has made it to 1,000 episodes (with no sign of stopping anytime soon) is an incredible feat. So whether you’ve been with it since the Going Merry first set sail, or you’re just getting your sea legs, come aboard for a swashbuckling good time. Okay, no more pirate puns, promise.

The livestream event kicks off at 7:15 pm ET/ 4:15 pm PT before the 1,000th episode airs at 9:00 pm ET/ 6:00 pm PT. 

Leave a Reply