Hunter Gorinson Named President and Publisher of Oni-Lion Forge Publishing Group

Earlier this week we had a chance to talk to some of our friends at Lion Forge about their highly anticipated animated series adaptation of Iyanu: Child of Wonder. And today the company has made a whopper of an announcement as former Boom Studios-exec Hunter Gorinson has joined the team as President and Publisher of the Oni-Lion Forge Publishing Group.

Per the Oni-Lion Forge team, Gorinson will assume the post immediately and oversee all company operations, including Oni’s editorial, marketing, operations, and sales divisions – with a portfolio that spans the direct market, book, digital, and e-commerce channels. In his new role, Gorinson will be tasked with expanding Oni-Lion Forge’s footprint as one of the world’s most renowned publishers of comic books and original graphic novels; building upon its decades-long relationships with some of the comic medium’s most noted creators; identifying new creative voices and partnerships; and expanding the Oni-Lion Forge brand through new collaborative ventures rooted in the storytelling power of the comic book medium.

“Oni is, without a doubt, one of the most groundbreaking and influential comic book publishers of our generation,” said Gorinson. “It’s a true honor to lead the company at this pivotal moment in its history, and I look forward to working alongside our incredibly talented team and distinguished roster of creators to write a new chapter that will honor Oni’s legacy of advancing daring creative voices, stories, and ideas, while opening new opportunities to maximize the scope and impact of the Oni-Lion Forge library for readers of all ages in comic shops, bookstores, and beyond.”

Oni-Lion Forge Publishing Group publishes more than 60 original graphic novels annually, in addition to an extensive list of periodical comics. Their primary titles include: Adult Swim’s Rick and Morty, Nickelodeon’s Invader ZIM, Bryan Lee O’Malley’s Scott Pilgrim, Ted Naifeh’s Courtney Crumrin, Anthony Johnston & Christopher Mitten’s Wasteland, Sophie Campbell’s Wet Moon, K. O’Neill’s The Tea Dragon Society, Brenna Thummler’s Sheets and Delicates, Maia Kobabe’s Gender Queer, Jarrett Melendez’s Chef’s Kiss, Ezra Claytan Daniels’ Upgrade Soul, the Eisner award-winning anthology Puerto Rico Strong, and seminal works by hundreds of creators, including Cullen Bunn, Zander Cannon, Tyler Crook, Ray Fawkes, Marc Guggenheim, Phil Hester, Mike Huddleston, Brian Joines, Sam Keith, Jim Mahfood, Chris and Laura Samnee, Judd Winick, and many more.